We make a plan

As most of you would know by now I am from Zimbabwe, and some of you may be waiting to hear my sentiments on the election and its results. This is a very difficult topic for me to address without potentially

Appreciate each gift
Appreciate each gift

betraying my fellow countrymen or simply dismissing it, so I won’t tackle the election or the election results directly but matters relating to them.

If there is one thing I’m eternally grateful for it’s the fact that these elections went without chaos or bloodshed. Most people would not see the relevance or significance behind a statement like this but it is no secret how difficult the 2008 elections were for every person living in Zimbabwe at the time. Some memories will never fade. This chance to have elections go without the drama of the last election is something that helps me hold my head up and have faith in the people of my homeland.
I was quite upset by the fact that I was unable to participate in these elections. There’s something about being able to voice one’s opinion and have it acknowledged that just enriches one’s life. No matter though, I will respect the results and the knowledge that so many others got to vote on my behalf.
I will not say who I would’ve voted for because I believe that is for me and me alone to know. I will however voice my concern on how this election and it’s results are being viewed and portrayed. Obviously for many there was a hope for a change of some sort because of the views held by certain groups. I have seen statements from officials from SADC (Southern African Development Community), the US, Australia and other places with mixed responses.
I like how SADC admires and acknowledges the peace with which the elections took place this year. It is very grounded and practical. That does not however mean that all other views are impractical. They are. Everyone has voiced logical reasons for their respective responses. However, sometimes it is only another African country or representative who can better, if not fully, understand the workings of the other. It’s fine and dandy to call people names and shout slander and come to various conclusions but if you are speaking from a Western or more economically developed perspective then take the time to search for other sources and mull over other views. Read what America says, Britain, Australia, Canada, etc. but also read what Botswana, South Africa, China, Mauritius, etc. have to say. Be objective and willing to hear other views and perspectives and maybe even look at some Zimbabwean newspapers if you can (The Herald and NewsDay are the two I can think of at the moment).

I keep coming across the words ‘tense’, ‘unsure’, and others when I read about the situation on the ground. Changes are coming and we can not tell for sure what these changes may be but we sit and wait to see. Don’t worry though, don’t fear for us. A dear friend of mine often struggles with her work because of a learning disorder and physical deformities but whenever she faces a challenge she finds particularly difficult she says “I can do this, I’m Zimbabwean!” That is the mentality of every Zimbabwean I have met. People often look at me with sympathy in their eyes and wonder how I survived situations when my family lived without water and electricity for undisclosed periods of time, how I manage to get such value for the money I spend, how I manage to laugh about the past struggles the people I know had to face at the most challenging time for our country. I look at those people with sympathy because I know that I don’t need to worry. I don’t need to be afraid or crying my eyes out. I don’t need to call my parents to make sure they’re alive. I just have to have faith. That’s what has developed in the hearts of so many Africans and others who have to face any kind of adversity. It teaches you invaluable lessons and teaches you to be happy with what you have.

“You don’t have water? Here, have some of mine.”
“You’re tired of your dry bread? Here I have a veggie sandwich, let’s swap.”
“Why are you crying? The sun is shining!”
“Why are you sulking? Your family’s here by your side.”
“Why are you struggling? Let me help you.”
That is the mentality the people of my country have developed. We don’t sit around and feel sorry for ourselves. We don’t waste our time pointing out what we wish we had. We don’t abandon one another. Zimbabweans…Zimbabweans always make a plan.

The times ahead may not be the easiest but we’ll survive, we always do. Who knows, things may progress better than we would ever have imagined. It’s that faith that will keep us going though. The one thing I am truly concerned for is the decision that will come from the EU. The EU has imposed sanctions on Zimbabwe for many years which have been a blessing and a curse. This decision has been condemned and praised by various people around the world, but dear officials of the European Union, please do not forget the impact your decision may have on a people. I’m not saying come in and ‘assist’, stay where you are and consult, observe, and try not to judge strictly. Are the sanctions against a party, a people or a person? Would you support it if it was the same situation but in India or Kuwait or Mauritius or Dominican Republic? What if it was Russia or Japan or Papua New Guinea? What if it was the United Kingdom or Brasil or Fiji? It’s not an easy decision to make, I commend you all for the work that you do but don’t get lost in all the furor around you. Be contemplative and unbiased and non judgemental.

Thank you for taking the time to read this and I’m sorry if this was not what you expected but there is so much more to say that I am unable to, but I have said what I felt needed to be said. And if I have said at least one thing that has made you pause or think or even grow in knowledge or understanding to a miniscule extent, then I’m happy. You have just brightened the day of a young Zimbabwean woman.

Faith/Vimbo/Themba

Leave a comment